…and in all these things

Haven’t blogged/journaled in a long time (even though I should be journaling for the summer mission…)

So I decided to start anew here on WordPress…leaving behind (or bringing with me?) the immaturity chronicled in my Xanga.

I felt particularly convicted to start again with this “…and in all these things” theme/approach – which came from the famous Romans 8:28 – “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him,who have been called according to his purpose.”

While doing my QTs I came across Genesis 42:35-38, where old Jacob moaned “All these things are against me” in verse 36. With everything that was happening to Jacob and his family, it certainly seemed so. Of course, knowing this famous story, we know that tons of blessing awaited Jacob just a few chapters later.

This has definitely been a difficult semester…not academically of course, not at all. Just circumstantially…and with everything that’s going on, I often find myself moaning “all these things are against me…” I find it difficult to believe and trust that all the dissappointments I face now are only a part of the mosaic that would eventually bring indescribable joy. 

It’s not too profound…and you definitely won’t find anything profound on my blog entires…but I realized that at every given moment I have to decide which verse I live by – Genesis 42:36, or Romans 8:28? I will always have to choose to respond with “all these things are against me”, or “and we know that in all things…”

I want this blog to be a way to recount all the different things that will be happening – and show that in all these things God works for the good of those who love Him.

